Post image for Belgium Grand Prix Unpredictable Weather Produces Exciting Race

Belgium Grand Prix Unpredictable Weather Produces Exciting Race

by F1Fan on August 31, 2010

The Belgium Grand Prix lived up to its reputation this weekend.The unpredictability of the weather playing a major factor as the Grand Prix progressed, it wasn’t that it was particularly wet it was more the not knowing when and if it was going to rain, how hard and for how long that caused most of the problems for the teams.

Several of the drivers had received penalties that were imposed prior to the start of the race causing some of the starting grid to change from the way qualifying ended the day before.

Belgium Grand Prix Revised Grid Position

Grid PositionDriver/TeamGrid PositionDriver/Team
1Webber/Red Bull Racing2Hamilton/McLaren
3Kubica/Renault F14Vettel/Red Bull Racing
7Barrichello/Williams F18Sutil/Force india
9Hulkenberg/Williams F110Alonso/Ferrari
11Alguersuari/Toro Rosso12Liuzzi/Force India
13Kovalainen/Lotus Racing14Rosberg/Mercedes GP
15Trulli/ Lotus Racing16Buemi/Toro Rosso
17Kobayashi/BMW Suaber F118Senna/HRT F1 Team
19Yamamoto/HRT F1 Team20Glock/Virgin Racing
21Schumacher/Mercedes GP22Pedro de la Rosa/BMW Sauber F1
23Di Grassi/Virgin Racing24Petrov/Renault F1
Aug 29, 2010
2010 F1 Season, Round 13, Spa-Francorchamps Circuit Final Grid Position
(Note: Schumacher received 10 position penalty, Rosberg 5 position Penalty, Timo Glock 5 position Penalty, Sebastien Buemi 3 position penalty, Pedro De LA Rosa 10 position penalty)

Mark Webber had a terrible start from Pole position dropping 6 places by the first corner, while Lewis Hamilton in the McLaren made the most of the opportunity taking the lead a position he was to hold for the rest of the race. Hamiltons team mate Jenson Button and Renault Driver Robert Kubica also made great starts with Kubica claiming second place and button right behind In third. On lap two Button managed to overtake Kubica and it was looking like it would be a McLaren one two finish.

Also on Lap two Barrichello in the Williams crashed hard into the back of Fernando Alonso tearing off his front left wheel and prematurely ending Barrichellos 300th Grand Prix appearence, remarkably Alonso’s Ferrari was undamaged and he went on to continue for most of the race until he spun off on Lap 38 in wet conditions hitting the tie barrier and breaking his front suspension.

Sebastian Vettel in the Red Bull had a really eventful race, after the restart of the race caused by Barrichello’s crash, Vetel managed to overtake Kubica into third place and later around Lap 16 was challenging Button for second place when he lost control of the car while breaking heavily under damp conditions. His car T boned Button’s McLaren taking him out of the race, while Vettel managed to limp into the pits to replace his front wing. Then just 10 laps later he comes together with Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi at the beginning of the lap and has his rear tire punctured causing him to have to drive almost the entire lap at a slow pace in order to get back to the pits, loosing so much time effectively ending his race.

With Button out of the race and Vettel at the back of the field it was Hamilton 1st, Kubica 2nd, Webber 3rd, when the rain finally arrived, all three drivers decided to stay out a decision that almost cost Lewis Hamilton the race running wide into the Gravel trap narrowly missing the tire barrier. The next Lap all the drivers pitted at the same time, Hamilton and Webber had great pit stops but Kubica over shot his pit box and lost precious seconds and Second Place to Mark Webber.

Other Drivers that did well were Felipe Massa who finished 4th, Adrian Sutil who had one of his best finishes of the season finishing 5th, Nico Rosberg finishing 6th ahead of Michael Schumacher who started 21st and ended up 7th. Vitaly petrov starting 23 and ending 9th Kamui Kobayashi for BMW Sauber finishing in the points in 8th place and Jamie Alguersuari for Toro Rosso finishing in 10th ahead of his more experienced teammate Sebastien Buemi.

Belgium Grand Prix Results (Top Ten)

Points Earned
1GBLewis HamiltonMcLaren25
2AustraliaMark WebberRed Bull Racing18
3PolandlRobert KubicaRenault15
4BrazilFelipe MassaFerrari12
5GermanyAdrian SutilForce India10
6GermanyNico RosbergMercedes GP8
7GermanyMIchael SchumacherMercedes GP6
8JapanKamui KobayashiBMW Sauber F14
9Vitaly PetrovRenault F12
10SpainJamie AlguersuariToro Rosso1
Spa-Francorchamps Circuit
last updated Aug 30, 2010
Animated flag images by
Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: