Post image for Ferrari’s World Championship Lead Narrows after Malaysian GP

Ferrari’s World Championship Lead Narrows after Malaysian GP

by F1Fan on April 6, 2010

The Formula One World Championships just got a lot closer at the top of both the Drivers and Constructors Standings after Red Bull claimed the top two spots on the podium at the Malaysian Grand prix.

Ferrari’s is still in first place but their lead has been cut to just 10 points and Red Bull has jumped above the Mercedes Gp and Renault F1 teams into third just 6 points below Mclaren.

2010 Constructors Championship After Malaysian Grand Prix

1Scuderia Ferrari76
2Vodaphone McLaren Mercedes66
3Red Bull Racing61
4Mercedes GP Petronas44
5Renault F130
6Force India18
7AT&T William6
8Scuderia Torro Rosso2
9BMW Sauber F10
10Lotus Racing0
11HRT F1 Team0
12Virgin Racing0
Confirmed teams for the 2010 season
Updated April 04, 2010

This season the FIA have adopted a new points system for the World Championship awarding points all the way down to tenth place with the first four positions earning much higher points than last season. In 2009. Constructors earn the combination of whatever their drivers score at a particular race.

2010 F1 Championship Points Scoring System

Position2010 Season
Points Awarded
2009 Season
Points Awarded
Last updated 12/11/2009

After Australia, Ferrari and their two drivers Alonso and Massa were still in a commanding lead, but with the new points system that can change fast especially if a driver fails to finish in the points as happened with Alonso this past weekend when his engine expired with just one lap to go.

2010 Drivers Championship After Malaysian Grand Prix

17Felipe MassaFerrariBrazil39
28Fernando AlonsoFerrariSpain37
35Sebastian VettelRed Bull RacingGermany37
41Jenson ButtonMcLarenGB35
54Nico RossbergMercedes GPGermany35
62Lewis HamiltonMcLarenGB31
711Robert KubicaRenaultPolandl30
86Mark WebberRed Bull RacingAustralia30
914Adrian SutilForce IndiaGermany10
103Michael SchumacherMercedes GPGermany9
1115Vitantonio LiuzziForce IndiaItaly8
129Rubens BarrichelloWilliamsBrazil5
1317Jaime AlguersuariTorro RossoSpain2
1410Nico HulkenbergWilliamsGermany1
1516Sebastien BuemiTorro RossoSwitzerland0
1622Pedro De La RosaBMW Sauber F1Spain0
1719Heikki KovalainenLotus F1Finland0
1820Karun ChandhokHRT F1 Team0
1925Lucas Di GrassiVirgin RacingBrazil-
2021Bruno SennaHRT F1 TeamBrazil0
2118Jarno TrulliLotus F1Italy0
2224Timo GlockVirgin RacingGermany0
2312Vitaly PetrovRenault-
2423Kamui KobayashiBMW Sauber F1Japan-
last updated Apr 04, 2010
Animated flag images by

So far this seasons World Championship shows no clear favorites however that may change now that Red Bull seem to have their reliability issues solved. The rest of the field have a lot of work to do match the pace of of the RB6 chassis. Red Bull has openly stated that they want the championship this year, if Vettel and Webber continue driving like they did in Malaysian that goal could very well be achieved, not bad for a team that just a couple of years ago was languishing down in the middle of the pack.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: