Post image for Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring Circuit

Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring Circuit

Round 12 of the Formula One season marks the 25th anniversary for the Hungaroring circuit to host the Hungarian Grand Prix, having staged the race every year since 1986.

The Hungaroring circuit is located just over 15 miles ( 25 kilometres) from Hungary’s capital city, Budapest. Known in F1 circles as Monaco without the houses the circuit is largely unchanged from its original layout is extremely tight and twisty and is a hard circuit to overtake on. The circuit is little used between Formula One Grand Prix weekends which makes the track extremely slippery especially of line making passing even more difficult. Traditionally the circuit has favored cars with good mechanical grip and strong slow-corner performance, so the Red Bull’s and maybe the Ferrari’s should do well here.


Length of lap: 2.722 Miles (4.381km)
Lap record : 1:19.071 (Michael Schumacher, Ferrari )
Number of Turns: 16 (9 RH, 7 LH)
Number of race laps: 70
Total race distance: 190.54 Miles (306.63km)
Pitlane speed limits: 60km/h during practice sessions; 100km/h during qualifying and race

Hungaroring Layout

Last year’s race was marred by the freak accident and resultant serious injury to Felipe Massa, who during practice was hit in the head by an errant spring that had come adrift from Rubens Barrichello’s Brawn GP Car. Luckily Felipe Massa has fully recovered from this accident and will be racing for Ferrari again during the 2010 Hungarian Grand Prix.

The Hungarian Grand Prix is notable for the number of multiple winners to have taken the chequered flag. Over the past 24 Formula One Grand prix events, Michael Schumacher has won the GP four times, Ayrton Senna three times, Mika Häkkinen, Lewis Hamilton, Damon Hill, Nelson Piquet and Jacques Villeneuve have all won twice. One-time winners are: Fernando Alonso, Rubens Barrichello, Thierry Boutsen, Jenson Button, Heikki Kovalainen, Nigel Mansell and Kimi Räikkönen.

Good Chance this year we will see yet another name added to the list of winning drivers.

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Comment

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.